A Fantastic Handbag Designer Eileen Roche (Embroidery is her Bag)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Just a Couple of Bag Ladies

November 2, 2011
By Eileen Roche

I’m afraid to count. I feel like Imelda Marcos but instead of shoes, it’s bags. Handbags. In the past five months, I’ve made over 20 handbags. Wow – it would be embarrassing if it wasn’t necessary. Every time I made a bag, I learned something very valuable that I applied to the next bag. Eventually, I got the hang of it.

But I wasn’t the only one. My good friend, Nancy Zieman, also made bags (I’ll bet she’s up to 20+ too!) just for this project, Designer Handbags. We decided to tackle this subject together because she has a line of handbag templates with Clover and I developed a ‘functional embroidery’ technique that not only looks good but works too. It sounded like the perfect marriage. And it was – we had a blast and hope you will too.

In Designer Handbags, you’ll find a 30-minute video illustrating all of the steps – embroidery, stabilizer, foundation, hardware, pressing – everything you need to make your own Designer Handbag.

***(Adding my 2 cents) I find that along with her beautiful bags she is also a master embroidery artist. Here is a link to some free embroidery patterns she offers to anyone that would like them. http://www.dzgns.com/products/115////

2 thoughts on “A Fantastic Handbag Designer Eileen Roche (Embroidery is her Bag)

Leave a Reply

