Hot Water Bottle Covers From…You Guessed it! From Your Old Sweater

Old Faithful

I spend a lot of time on the computer. I have a home business that involves internet sales and that includes writing many, many descriptions. By the time I go to bed, my neck and shoulder usually ache pretty badly. That’s when I take out “old faithful” that I inherited from my grandmother. He is a nasty colored orangish-red (not pretty like it sounds) and is made of a thin but very sturdy rubber. They just don’t make them like this one anymore. It’s a very sentimental thing to me, yeah even a hot water bottle can have meaning beyond words to people like me. Because the rubber is so thin, the bottle sometimes gets too hot up against my bare skin.

So what do you think I did? Those of you that know me…come on…Ok, of course I got out an old sweater and made a nice cover for it. Now it’s snuggly, comfy, and warm without being to hot for my skin. If I haven’t made my point yet, sweaters are one of the best inventions man (actually, I’m sure it was a woman because it’s so brilliant) ever came up with. I washed mine in hot, hot water and then put it in the dryer so it would felt and soften up. Now it’s perfect. For you “electric heating pad” people, I’d tell you to do the same. That cheesy cover they come with just aren’t the same. Get out your old, fuzzy sweater and dress up your heat provider (not talking about your lover here).

Click on this hot water bottle for a link to the crochet directions to crochet one if you prefer to pass on the use of an old sweater.

Leave a Reply

