Thinking of Nana at the Sewing Machine and Missing those Precious Moments We Shared

How old were you when your parent or grandparent sat you down at a sewing machine and let you "drive"????

How old were you when your parent or grandparent sat you down at a sewing machine and let you “drive”????

Looking at these photos brings me back to the first time my grandmother, Nana, sat me down to teach me to sew. After months of asking “When will I be big enough to sew?” she plopped me down on the sewing stool, my feet dangling because they were too short to hit the floor, and showed me how to “drive” the sewing machine. That day something rose up in my throat and took up all the space in my heart, and my sewing seed began to grow. I sewed almost everyday since. I made all my fabric home décor, I made my sons’ clothing until is was no longer “cool” to wear homemade clothing, I made Christmas presents, you name it.
Soon after that, she taught me how to crochet. So, everyone on earth that I knew had a afghan that I made. Like it on not, they got one.
My sweet, yet very feisty Nana passed away on my son’s birthday several years ago. I think she actually held on until his birthday party was over because she was aware of it and died after the party. She was even thoughtful in her death. I wish now that I had taken more time to sew with her. I mean side-by-side sewing, working together, not separately. I was too busy getting married, having babies, couponing, sewing everything from scratch, cooking everything from scratch, a real money-saving machine so that I could stay home with my sons during their early years. I really wish I’d MADE time to sew and crochet with her.
Nana, I hope you’re with me now, in spirit. I’m quite sure I feel you touch me and whisper sweet things to me when I’m really upset. I have your old rouge container and one of your cloth hankies on my vanity where I touch them often. The hanky still has a faint scent of you. When it’s my time to join you, please be there waiting for me with two sewing machines, side-by-side, so that we can pick up where we left off. I miss you and love you with all my heart. When I arrive in heaven, let’s make you a new dress.

346390_orig

thCASGDNRH

millie_motts_sewing_ads

!B-IKK5QEGk~$(KGrHqUOKjEEzQojIPqOBM7)34prfQ~~0_35

thCAWMR31K

2 thoughts on “Thinking of Nana at the Sewing Machine and Missing those Precious Moments We Shared

Leave a Reply

