Turning Old Buttons into Wearable ART

Using Old Buttons, Fabric Scraps, and Broken Jewelry Parts

Using Old Buttons, Fabric Scraps, and Broken Jewelry Parts


It took me about an hour to make 2 of these bracelets for my nieces for Christmas. My total cost was about $1.00 each as I was able to use old buttons, fabric scraps, and dissected broken jewelry parts. I used scraps of fabrics with peace signs, skulls, flowers, nail polish, dog, and cat designs.

I have a box full of broken jewelry, scrap fabrics, buttons, and doodads that break off of things that I find interesting. I collect and save things for just such a project. When I need a quick gift for a birthday party this is where I go. I find interesting little things everywhere I go. Open your eyes and find these little treasures and put them in a box. I’ve found fantastic inspiration pieces in of all places, a gum ball machine. For 50 cents I’ve found great things that inspire a gorgeous piece of jewelry or a really pretty embellishment to a handbag. Separately they don’t look like much but all together it’s a gold mine of ideas.

Leave a Reply

