How To Make Money At Home, A Little At a Time

1157655_10202013880769058_1349336214_n The trick to working at home for me was to find something to sell that I actually enjoy and know something about. It basically amounts to taking your hobby and making it into profits. Whatever your passion is there’s a way to sell that to other fans of the hobby. Since you have an insider’s view of that special interest, that sets you up at being an authority on that subject. Use that to create your business. My hobbies have always involved sewing or crafting of some sort. I began to notice that almost everything I wanted to make came with instructions or a pattern.  That’s where I got my direction.

I researched almost everywhere on the web (or at least I felt like I did) to decide what exactly I wanted to specialize in. After experimenting with several other options I came to settle on sewing patterns. This is where I found my expertise. I can make a garment using a pattern with one arm and my eyes closed. Doing it this way makes it much more difficult of course so I wouldn’t try this at home.  So, my business is all about sewing patterns. Eventually I made contact and proved myself to the pattern companies that I was worthy of being a distributor of their products and made a wholesale deal with them, making my business more profitable. I started in July of 2008 and work at this everyday. You have to want it. You have to dream it, sleep it, think about it all the time. If you find you don’t want to do that, then you lack a certain passion for a home business. You have to make the time and put your business ahead of some of the fun things you enjoy doing and work instead. It’s not easy but you have to at least try.

Take a baby step and find something to sell, something you know about and understand in detail. Start with a source of selling like Ebay, Etsy, or Amazon where your item will get more attention. But it doesn’t happen overnight. If you come up with an item that is really HOT right now you might get an instant money-maker. But, once that item becomes a common thing, it does off. Then you have to find something else. That’s why I specialize in sewing patterns and similar items. Business is more consistent and reliable. I don’t settle for consistent and reliable though because that’s when you get lazy and stop promoting your business. You have to market it each and every day. I find somewhere on the web or media to mention my business EVERY SINGLE DAY. Even if it’s a 5 minute attempt, I do it. So, give it a try and see if you can find your own income using your own little head. It’s all passion and we all have it. Use it!

Run your home business your way. :)

Run your home business your way. 🙂 (thanks to iPost for the photo)

Butterscotch Tabby

www.butterscotchtabby.com

Leave a Reply

